82 Percent are More Thankful in 2012 than 2011

82 Percent are More Thankful in 2012 than 2011

A few months ago, March Communications posted a comment on its Facebook page, asking what people loved most about PR. Comments flooded in ranging from the creativity of the industry and constant learning opportunities, to the fast pace and how no two days are the same. And, as we approach the Thanksgiving holiday in the U.S., I think it’s safe to say that many of us are thankful for these qualities in our growing industry.

But, beyond PR, people generally seem to be more thankful this year than in years past. According to a Harris Interactive poll, in 2011, just 32 percent of those surveyed were more thankful thank in 2010. And, this year, with an interactive poll being conducted at the bottom of this article, stats are already showing that nearly 82 percent of people are more thankful in 2012 than in 2011 (at least at the time when I took the survey). Perhaps it has something to do with the recovering economy and improving unemployment rates since the 2008 economic downturn. But, whatever the reason, it’s encouraging to see thankfulness spreading nationwide.

Personally, I couldn’t be more thankful for the positive attitude and teamwork of my colleagues and clients. Combined with the supportive atmosphere and challenging work, it’s still a joy to wake up each day and come to March. Of course, I’d be remiss without mentioning how thankful I am for my loving family, great friends, and fabulous Boston sports teams (Go Pats!). And, further to March’s Facebook poll, some other staff members chimed in with what they’re thankful for this holiday season:

Cheryl: “I am thankful for the many hard working, dedicated and truly amazing people at March. Without them, there would be no March – just a Mar and a ch! I am also extremely thankful for my family’s health and love.”

Joanna: “I’m thankful for my great clients and the wonderful people I get to work with every day. I’m also thankful for my health, my family, all my friends and, of course, for nachos, puppies and Dunkachinos!”

Doug: “Professionally, I’m thankful for being able to collaborate with such motivated and creative folks, and supporting the high-energy disruptors and innovators of the tech world. Personally, I’m thankful for my family and friends who are reliably optimistic and see the best in life, and are supportive even when they see things differently.”

Sarah: “I’m thankful for my family and friends, who fill my life with purpose and adventure, and, no matter where I am, always make me feel at home. I’m also thankful to be surrounded by a team of dedicated and supportive employees at March who come to work each day looking to improve upon the previous one, never afraid to push each other or go outside our comfort zone.”

So, as Thanksgiving quickly approaches, what are you thankful for – both in PR and beyond?

2 thoughts on “82 Percent are More Thankful in 2012 than 2011

  1. Thanks for the comment, Gini! Many businesses are certainly much better off today than the past few years, but, you’re right, survival is the foundation of any improvement!

Leave a Reply

