Enjoying My New Sony Vaio W Netbook

Enjoying My New Sony Vaio W Netbook

In a recent impulse purchase, granted one much larger than my usual checkout line candy bar, I decided I was in need of a netbook.  On the afternoon before I left for a trade show, I was belaboring having to lug around my huge 17″ Sony Vaio laptop, which, despite its sleekness, is actually quite heavy.  Wanting to blog live from the event, I decided a netbook, rather than a sturdier carrying case, was really what was in order.

My latest gadget boasts a 10.1 inch screen, 1.6GHz Atom processor, 160GB HDD, 1GB RAM, Windows 7 starter edition, Bluetooth, 802.11b/g/n, VGA out, two USB ports, Ethernet, webcam, and MemoryStick / SD card readers.  I was especially pleased to have the extended battery pack included and higher-resolution screen at 1,366×768.

While the keyboard was a bit hard to get used to, at 86% the size of a normal laptop, just in the time it’s taken me to type this post, I’ve already adjusted and do not feel slowed up in the slightest… except for the tiny right side shift key, but I don’t really use that except to make smiley faces and exclamation points! 🙂

However, as I sat in the airport trying to access Boston Logan’s WiFi, unsuccessfully I might add, I found myself wishing it also had a CD/DVD drive, so I could watch movies too.  But maybe that will be in the next version.  For now, I’m loving my netbook and can’t wait to easily bring it on my upcoming, and much needed vacation!

Leave a Reply

